The Sydney University Lions was one of the foundation teams of Gridiron NSW (then known as the NSWGFL), playing its first game on 29 April 1984.  The Lions is the only team to have competed in every season of the Gridiron NSW competition.  The Lions have established an enviable winning tradition, playing in 31 championship games in 38 years and winning 22 Gridiron NSW titles, the most by any club.  The Lions have won the last two Waratah Bowls played for the Gridiron NSW championship in 2020 & 2022.

Frequently asked questions on playing for the Lions are answered here.  If you are interested in playing for the Lions, send an email with your name, address and telephone number to [email protected].

From this page you can link to information on the Lions, including details of the current season and upcoming events, the history of the team, player and team records, statistics and roster information.  When in season, link to game reports from the Home page.  At season’s end, game reports will be placed in the Archives.